Merkley Announces Town Halls in Eastern Oregon

Washington, D.C. – Oregon’s U.S. Senator Jeff Merkley announced today he will be holding nine in-person town halls for Eastern Oregon counties in May: Malheur, Harney, and Grant counties on Friday, May 17; Baker, Union, and Wallowa counties on Saturday, May 18; and Umatilla, Morrow, and Gilliam counties on Sunday, May 19. The events continue Merkley’s 2024 town hall tour of Oregon, where he is holding a community conversation for each of the state’s 36 counties.    

“I hold a town hall for every Oregon county every year because there is simply no substitute to hearing directly from folks about the ideas and priorities that matter most to them and their communities. Oregonians’ thoughts help shape my work in Congress, including positions on policies, ideas for bills, and strategies for securing resources for every corner of our state,” Merkley said.   

“Over the course of the more than 550 town halls I’ve held since Oregonians sent me to the Senate, I’ve seen how these events provide respectful, safe spaces for people to express their unique points of view during these often-divisive times. We all benefit significantly when we leave our comfort zone and open ourselves up to new ways of looking at issues—me included.   

“I am thrilled to be hitting the road again to meet with Oregonians from all walks of life in their communities.”   

Since taking office in 2009, Senator Merkley has kept his promise to hold an open town hall for each of Oregon’s 36 counties every year. His upcoming town hall conversations are as follows, with additional details to be sent to local media ahead of each event:   

Friday, May 17: 

Ayuntamiento del condado de Malheur 

Tiempo: 10:30 a.m. MT

Ubicación: Vale Senior Citizens Center – Main Hall

100 Longfellow St S, Vale, OR 97918

Ayuntamiento del condado de Harney 

Tiempo: 2 p.m. PT

Ubicación: Harney County Community Center – Community Room

478 N Broadway Ave, Burns, OR 97720

 Grant County Town Hall 

Tiempo: 5 p.m. PT

Ubicación: Seneca Elementary School – Gym

101 Park Ave, Seneca, OR 97873

Saturday, May 18:  

Baker County Town Hall  

Tiempo: 10:30 a.m. hora del Pacífico

Ubicación: Community Connection of Baker County – Main Hall

2810 Cedar St, Baker City, OR 97814

Union County Town Hall  

Tiempo: 2:30 p.m. PT

Ubicación: Cove High School – Gym

803 Main St, Cove, OR 97824

Wallowa County Town Hall   

Tiempo: 6 p.m. PT

Ubicación: Community Connection of Northeast Oregon (Enterprise Senior Center) – Main Hall

702 NW First St, Enterprise, OR 97828

Sunday, May 19:  

Umatilla County Town Hall   

Tiempo: 12 p.m. PT

Ubicación: Nixyáawii Governance Center, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR) – General Council Chambers 

46411 Timíne Way, Pendleton, OR 97801

Morrow County Town Hall   

Tiempo: 3 p.m. PT 

Ubicación: Boardman Senior Center – Main Hall

100 Tatone St, Boardman, OR 97818

Ayuntamiento del condado de Gilliam

Tiempo: 5:30 p.m. PT

Ubicación: Gronquist Building – Columbia Room

1150 Railroad Ave, Arlington, OR 97812