Congressional Visit: Sen. Merkley to hold Curry town hall

Oregon’s U.S. Sen. Jeff Merkley plans to kick off 2020 with 12 town halls across Southern and Central Oregon, including one in Curry County. The town halls will be Jan. 2 through 5, in Douglas, Coos, Curry, Josephine, Jackson, Klamath, Deschutes, Jefferson, Crook, Wheeler, Grant, and Gilliam counties.

According to a release from Merkley’s office, he will update constituents on his work in Washington, D.C., and answer their questions and invite their suggestions about how to tackle the challenges facing Oregon and America.

“Hearing from Oregonians across the state is critical to doing my job,” Merkley said. “From tackling Sudden Oak Death, to big investments in rural broadband, to making sure small ports get dredged, the ideas and priorities I hear about in town halls wind up as the solutions I fight to get into federal law. I look forward to these discussions about how we can strengthen our state and our nation.”

Since joining the Senate in 2009, Merkley has held a town hall in each of Oregon’s 36 counties every year. In all, the New Year town halls will be his 408th as a U.S. Senator.

The following locations are Merkley’s scheduled town halls.

Jan. 2

10 a.m.

Douglas County Town Hall

Sutherlin High School, gym

500 E. Fourth Ave.


2 p.m.

Coos County Town Hall

Coquille Community Center, small auditorium

115 N. Birch St.


5:30 p.m.

Curry County Town Hall

Port Orford Community Hall

419 Eleventh St.

Port Orford

Jan. 3

8:30 a.m. Josephine County Town Hall

Rogue Community College, gym

3345 Redwood Highway

Grants Pass

12 p.m.

Jackson County Town Hall

Southern Oregon University, Rogue River Room

1250 Siskiyou Blvd.


4 p.m.

Klamath County Town Hall

Oregon Institute of Technology, College Union, Mazama-Scott Room

3201 Campus Drive

Klamath Falls

Jan 4

9 a.m.

Deschutes County Town Hall

Ridgeview High School, auditorium

4555 SW Elkhorn Ave.


12 p.m.

Jefferson County Town Hall

Madras Performing Arts Center, auditorium

412 SE Buff St.


3 p.m.

Crook County Town Hall

Barnes Butte Elementary School, gym

1875 NE Ironhorse Drive


6:30 p.m.

Wheeler County Town Hall

Mitchell School, cafeteria

340 SE High St.


Jan. 5

12:30 p.m.

Grant County Town Hall

Mount Vernon Community Hall

640 Ingle St.

Mt. Vernon

5 p.m.

Gilliam County Town Hall

Veterans Memorial Hall

120 S. Main St.