Merkley Announces Second In-Person Town Hall Swing of 2023

Washington, D.C. – Oregon’s U.S. Senator Jeff Merkley announced today his second round of in-person town halls in 2023. The town halls will be held in Clackamas County, Southern Oregon, and the Willamette Valley between February 3-6.

“I hold a town hall for every Oregon county, every year because there is simply no substitute to hearing directly from folks about the ideas and priorities that matter most to them and their communities. Oregonians’ thoughts help shape my work in Congress, including positions on policies, ideas for bills, and strategies for securing resources for every corner of our state,” Merkley said.

“Over the course of the more than 500 town halls I’ve held since Oregonians sent me to the Senate, I’ve seen how these events provide respectful, safe spaces for people to express their unique points of view during these often-divisive times. We all benefit significantly when we leave our comfort zone and open ourselves up to new ways of looking at issues—myself included.

“It’s been great to get back on the road again to meet Oregonians from all walks of life.”

Since taking office in 2009, Senator Merkley has kept his promise to hold an open town hall for each of Oregon’s 36 counties every year. In recent years, many of the events have been virtual amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

He held his first in-person town halls of the year earlier this month, speaking with Oregonians in eight counties ranging from Oregon’s North Coast to the Columbia River Gorge and Eastern Oregon.

Senator Merkley’s second swing of town halls in 2023 are as follows, with additional details to be sent to local media ahead of each town hall:

Friday, February 3:

Clackamas County Town Hall

Time: 12 p.m. PT

Location: Camp Withycombe—Assembly Hall

15300 SE Minuteman Way, Clackamas, OR 97015-9372

Saturday, February 4:

Curry County Town Hall

Time: 10 a.m. PT

Location: Port Orford Community Center

421 11th St. Port Orford, OR 97465

Coos County Town Hall

Time: 1 p.m. PT

Location: Marshfield High School – Heritage Hall

972 Ingersoll Ave. Coos Bay, OR 97420

Douglas County Town Hall

Time: 5 p.m. PT

Location: Umpqua Community College – Bonnie J Ford Health, Nursing and Science Center (HNSC)

1140 Umpqua College Rd. Roseburg, OR 97470

Sunday, February 5:

Jackson County Town Hall

Time: 1 p.m. PT

Location: Lone Pine Elementary School – Gym

3158 Lone Pine Rd. Medford, OR 97504

Josephine County Town Hall

Time: 3:30 p.m. PT

Location: Rogue Community College – Cafeteria

3345 Redwood Highway, Grants Pass, OR 97527

Monday, February 6:

Marion County Town Hall

Time: 10 a.m. PT

Location: Chemeketa Community College – Building 6

6 E Campus Loop, Salem, OR 97305

Polk County Town Hall

Time: 1 p.m. PT

Location: Western Oregon University – Werner University Center

400 Monmouth Ave. N. Monmouth, OR 97361

Yamhill County Town Hall

Time: 4 p.m. PT

Location: McMinnville Community Center

600 NE Evans St. McMinnville, OR 97128