Merkley Statement on Oregon Disaster Declaration

Washington, DC –Oregon’s Senator Jeff Merkley issued a statement shortly after President Obama signed a disaster declaration for the state of Oregon. Federal resources will be deployed to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the counties of Benton, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Hood River, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, and Tillamook. These 12 counties were affected by a severe winter storm, flooding, landslides, and mudslides during the period of January 17-21, 2012.

“The President’s disaster declaration will pave the way to substantial federal help for those areas affected by the severe January storm, and I thank him for his efforts. Oregonians have already done amazing work to recover from the damages, but the federal assistance will go a long way for hard-hit Oregon communities in these tough economic times. I stand ready to help communities get any assistance they need as they work to recover and rebuild.”