Merkley Announces Donation of Senate Computers to Oregon Schools

Merkley Announces Donation of Senate Computers to Oregon Schools

Washington D.C. – Oregon’s Senator Jeff Merkley announced today that five Oregon schools and school districts will receive surplus computers from the United States Senate.

Three schools and two school districts from the Willamette Valley to Umatilla County will each receive five computers from the U.S. Senate’s Computers for Schools program.

 “Computers are as essential to a student’s education as books, calculators and pens,” Merkley said. “This program is an excellent opportunity to both help our local schools and make sure that this equipment doesn’t go to waste.”

The U.S. Senate’s Computers for Schools program was established to channel surplus Senate computers into classrooms across the country. Senators have the option of donating up to 25 computers to public schools in their state that have registered with the program. The computers, which the Senate no longer uses due to routine equipment upgrades, are in good condition and wiped clean of memory before being shipped to schools. Donations must be made in groups of five.

Prarie School District - Grant County - 5 computers
Redmond High School - Deschutes County - 5 computers
Powell Butte Elementary School - Crook County - 5 computers
Yamhill-Carlton School District - Yamhill County - 5 computers
Mcloughlin High School - Umatilla County - 5 computer