U.S. Lawmakers Nominate Hong Kong Protesters For Nobel Peace Prize

It isn’t easy to get politicians from the two main U.S. political parties to agree on much. One common area, however,  is often U.S. policy toward China, and today a bipartisan group of American lawmakers released a letter nominating Hong Kong’s pro-democracy moment for the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize.

The move is sure to draw criticism from Beijing, which has blamed foreign forces for instigating protests in the former British colony.  It comes at time when U.S.-China relations have been strained by trade and geopolitical tension, and as Beijing’s leaders are straining to control a coronavirus outbreak that has led to more than 400 deaths and 20,000 illnesses and threatens first-quarter economic growth (see related story here).

Representative James P. McGovern, a Democrat from Massachusetts,  Senator Marco Rubio, a Florida Republican, Representatives Christopher Smith,  a New Jersey Republican, Thomas Suozzi, a New York Democrat, and Tom Malinowski, a New Jersey Democrat, as well as Senators Jeffrey Merkley, an Oregon Democrat, Steve Daines, a Montana Republican, and Todd Young, an Indiana Republican, supported the nomination. They are all members of the bipartisan and bicameral Congressional-Executive Commission on China.