Wyden, Merkley, Hoyle: Oregon to Receive Nearly $2.7 Million to Improve Road Safety

Cities of Medford, Corvallis. Eugene, Bend and Stayton as well as Crook, Benton, Deschutes counties and Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs to benefit

Washington, D.C. –U.S. Senators Ron Wyden and Jeff Merkley along with U.S. Representative Val Hoyle today announced nearly $2.7 million in federal funds for cities, counties and Tribes in Oregon to help plan road improvements and transportation safety.

“This is exactly the type of investment I fought for in the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law because it will directly save Oregonians’ lives on our state’s busiest roadways ,” Wyden said. “I am committed to making our streets in Oregon and across the nation as safe as possible for this generation and the next.”

“Oregonians in every corner of the state deserve safe streets in their communities,” said Merkley. “These investments will transform Oregon’s roadways into safer places for bicyclists, pedestrians, and drivers. I will continue working to ensure every Oregonian is able to move about their daily lives conveniently, without fear of accident or injury.” 

“These projects mark a significant step forward to help ensure safer roads and streets for every Oregonian.  I’m proud that our communities, including Benton County and the Cities of Corvallis and Eugene, are taking proactive measures to enhance safety for all modes of transportation.” said Congresswoman Hoyle. “These initiatives not only safeguard our residents, they also promote equitable access and mobility for all.”

The $2.65 million in federal funds come from the federal Department of Transportation’s Safe Streets and Roads for All Planning Grant program through the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law and will be distributed as follows in Oregon:

  • City of Medford – $400,000
  • Crook County – $96,000
  • The Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs – $320,000
  • Deschutes County – $144,000
  • Benton County – $320,000
  • City of Corvallis – $664,000
  • City of Eugene – $384,000
  • Bend Metropolitan Planning Organization – $200,000
  • City of Stayton – $120,000

“This grant will allow the City to move forward with critical evaluation and planning efforts which will allow the City to strategically incorporate safety improvements in our transportation investments,” said Corvallis Mayor Charles Maughan.

“Improving walking and biking conditions to and from transit stops through this project will play a vital role in supporting sustainable transportation trips and mitigating future greenhouse gas emissions,” said Jenifer Willer, City of Eugene Engineering Division manager. “Eugene is grateful for this award and for the support of Oregon’s congressional representatives.”

“Benton County, Oregon’s SS4A Planning Grant for a Safety Action Plan is a crucial step towards enhancing safety and accessibility for all transportation users in this vibrant region we call home. With a population of over 92,000, from the high volume of commuters to the growing number of cyclists and outdoor enthusiasts, Benton County faces a unique blend of transportation needs. The Safety Action Plan seeks to address these challenges in a comprehensive and responsible way,” said Benton County Commissioner Pat Malone.

“Road safety is a priority for Crook County. This grant will help us develop a plan to ensure safe roads for years to come,” said Crook County Judge Seth Crawford.

“We are thrilled to receive federal SS4A funding to update our Transportation Safety Action Plan (TSAP),” said Tony DeBone, Deschutes County Commissioner. “The TSAP update will allow us to identify emerging safety issues in our system and utilize low cost improvements and non-infrastructure investment opportunities to improve the safety of our transportation system.”

“This award provides an exciting opportunity to enhance transportation safety throughout Medford,” said Medford Mayor Randy Sparacino. “Federal funds will help us develop a comprehensive action plan and strategy for tackling our top safety needs with transportation solutions that will ultimately save lives and prevent injuries for all users of our roadways.”

A web version of this release is here.